This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Before & after school care..... does it exist

(12 Posts)
bibblebobblebubble Thu 07-Apr-16 20:53:32

We've had a nanny in the past but the kids are now at school so we don't need someone full time (and it was bankrupting us....), now we have an au pair but I've not really enjoyed having someone living in the house. DH and I work full time.

Would we ever get someone who would be prepared to do 8-9, 3.30-7 and some school holidays? Does this exist as a thing?

I don't think there are many local childminders here and in any case we'd much prefer to have someone in the house. I don't mind paying £10/£11hr and I don't expect a fully qualified nanny, just someone reasonably mature and reliable.

This isn't a job ad, just trying to figure out what the options are....

calamityjam Thu 07-Apr-16 20:59:29

Can I work for you? seriously though I am doing a degree in working with children young people and families. I am a mature student with 4 dc's of my own, this would suit me down to the ground. Why don't you ask your local college, I am sure there are students who are doing childcare courses at both further and higher education levels who would jump at the chance to work for you, it would also qualify for my work placement.

PhoebeMcPeePee Thu 07-Apr-16 23:42:48

I think you'll find the 1 hour in the morning a struggle to fill - is there a breakfast club at school? The after school might appeal to someone older or at college/uni in the day. I'd also check out childminders as this is the most obvious and probably cheapest solution .

nokidshere Fri 08-Apr-16 10:16:50

I do before and after school care either term time only or all year. Most childminders I know do also.

And if you are willing to pay £10 ph I would do it for you grin

Yerazig Fri 08-Apr-16 10:30:06