This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

What parts of nannying do you particularly enjoy and what do you dislike?

(18 Posts)
nannybea Wed 20-Jan-16 16:45:37

Hi,

I have been asked this question

What parts of nannying do you particularly enjoy and what do you dislike?

on a nanny application, I am not sure what to write for dislike (but spin in a positive way).

Thankyou

Callaird Wed 20-Jan-16 22:11:28

I just put - being disrespected. Parents being late home with no phone call/text. A messy house in the morning/Monday morning, when I left it tidy when I left. Not being paid on time.

Can't think what else, I haven't been asked that question in a long time.

nbee84 Wed 20-Jan-16 22:23:58

I usually say something like I'm not very good at ironing and don't enjoy it - it's something that isn't negative about the children and sometimes has a positive effect in that the parents will say not to worry about ironing or just do uniforms or something.

Unfortunately didn't work for my current job - they like everything ironed including vests, babygros and muslins! Though since baby no 3 came along mb now sends all the sheets and duvets out to an ironing lady as it was getting impossible for me to keep on top of it all grin shock

peppielillyan Wed 20-Jan-16 22:38:49

what i like
The opportunity to take care of other family's most precious ones, contribute to their learning and development and be responsible as it is about your family.

what i dont like
parents being secretive, and lacking proper judgement about their duties as parents

BooAvenue Wed 20-Jan-16 23:10:18

parents being secretive, and lacking proper judgement about their duties as parents

I cannot explain why, but as a perspective employer that would rile me.

All other responses up thread I would think fair enough!

PotOfYoghurt Wed 20-Jan-16 23:19:51

Micromanaging.

BooAvenue Wed 20-Jan-16 23:26:18