This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

need advice from nannies and nanny employers please

(15 Posts)
IAmAPaleontologist Wed 16-Dec-15 20:43:16

Ds2 has ring worm. He has one, single circle on his leg. Took him to pharmacist, have cream.

Nhs says no need to exclude from childcare.

Nursery happily took him today.

Yesterday was a nanny day. She brought him home at 1pm, pointed out the ringworm and legged it home because she didn't want to catch it. I was fuming, she raised her eyebrows and made noises about not wanting her kids to get it. She then refused to pick the big ones up from school saying that she assumed I would do it because I had the toddler she had dumped on me and then I could check them for it. She is now refusing to come in tomorrow because of it.

I have no idea how to handle it. I'm not good at being an employer! Things have always been fairly relaxed with flexibility of both sides. My work hours vary a lot so she often doesn't know what she is working until last min and things like that so we've always been happy to be flexible in return but more recently she is taking the piss

For context, on the days she doesn't work for us she works for sister nursery to the one ds1 goes to. I'm assuming she wouldn't be refusing to go there if a child had ringworm.

Littlef00t Wed 16-Dec-15 21:15:36

You go by the nhs website for whether something is regarded as appropriate to exclude. If not, you dock their pay. You should have a contract though that states this though, and also cover to allow you to start disciplinary if they are refusing to work for a poor reason.

RattieOfCatan Wed 16-Dec-15 21:29:04