Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

Anyone registered as a sitter with Sitters.co.uk

(12 Posts)
grumpalumpgrumped Sun 08-Jun-14 21:05:57

Thinking of starting to work with them. I am a nursery manager but reluctant to babysit for the parents at the nursery as it blurs lines a bit.

What happens about Tax etc, I assume you sort it yourself as it says you are paid direct?

anything else i should know?

lovelynannytobe Mon 09-Jun-14 13:51:43

I work through them. I'm paid in cash and declare it as additional income and pay tax. It's good way to earn a bit of cash whenever you need it. There are quieter parts of the year and very busy ones too. Period around Christmas is very busy and I babysat virtually every day of the week. On average it's twice a week busiest days being Friday and Saturday. I will not travel further than 4 miles ...

AMI88 Tue 10-Jun-14 21:02:23

I was but I am no longer...I found them very demanding!!

I work 50+ hours a week! but wanted to be able to earn a little extra cash here and there, so I signed on, on the understanding that I could do babysitting at the weekend, if and when I needed it.