This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Retainers during holidays

(10 Posts)
juniper44 Sat 08-Feb-14 22:01:51

Is this normal? So far, I've only met with one childminder. She said that she would want 1/3 of normal pay for times I didn't take DD. I'm a teacher so have numerous holidays and would rather just be able to have her off with me.

Is it normal to have to pay £15 a day or so to keep the place?

Mrswellyboot Sat 08-Feb-14 22:06:58

We had this issue to but went to eight different places and found one who actually only wants term time.

The norm is to pay for two days in five during holidays from what I have experienced.

HSMMaCM Sat 08-Feb-14 22:07:39

Depends on the CM. I am open all year, so I would charge full fee for holiday and you could use the space if you want. Some CMs work term time only and won't charge for holidays.

TwittyMcTwitterson Sat 08-Feb-14 22:22:36

If say that's normal. My CM charges a half fee if you give seven days notice. Some nurseries do a 38 week year. In all honesty, though you obviously love spending time with DC, you may want a day here n there in the holidays to catch up on housework or spend with OH and reminisce about child free days gone by wink that's what we do about 1/2 days per year grin

minderjinx Sun 09-Feb-14 07:56:10