Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

Finding a childminder - what do I need to know?

(12 Posts)
WhatAPallava Wed 01-Jan-14 20:06:59

I need a childminder for my 2 year old DD and have contacted a few through my local directory.

Going to meet a potential one tomorrow at her home.

I've never used childcare before, the only experience is what I've read on forums!

What do I need to know?
What should I ask her?

I need a term time contract and she has already said she is happy to do a term time only contract

IwishIwasmoreorganised Wed 01-Jan-14 20:11:29

Ask about her potentially taking other holidays during term time, paying for sick days (hers and your dc's), payment (weekly, monthly in advance or in arrears).

Will she provide food, nappies etc or do you need to?

Ask about the other children that she looks after, school runs etc.

Ask about what activites she does or groups that she goes to.

Ask to see references, insurance documents, inspection reports.

Check which areas of the property her minded children are allowed to use - does it include the garden?

Lots to ask, but gut instinct is always strong when choosing CM's IME.

FadBook Wed 01-Jan-14 20:13:19

I have recently done this. I think you can plan questions but ultimately you will get a feel for whether she can take care of your child.

I asked:

- about her behaviour policy
- about her own parenting style / family
- typical days at her house / activities
- who else is in the house
- how she'll record down the daily things (times of naps, food, nappies etc)
- settling in period