Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

Don't want to leave my childminder, but running out of options!

(19 Posts)
lifeissweet Tue 17-Dec-13 06:17:21

My DD has a lovely Childminder. She loves DD and does lots of nice things with her. Unfortunately, I'm having huge problems with reliability at the moment and it is making me extremely stressed.

I am a teacher. Since September, her own children have been sick twice, she has called me to come and get DD in the middle of the day because she had some bad news, she has been sick twice. So that's 5 occasions in one term when I've had to take time off or be late to school because I've been finding someone else to have DD for the day. To be honest, I have no family nearby and all my friends work. Sometimes DP can take time off, but all the uncertainty is making me stressed. It has been 3 times in the last fortnight. It's not her fault her children are unwell or that she is. I don't want to appear harsh, but today I have had to call in sick for myself because I'm embarrassed to admit that I'm having childcare issues yet again. I think work's patience will be running thin. What do other people do when their Childminder is sick?!

msmiggins Tue 17-Dec-13 06:27:21

Can't help I'm afraid but I do sympathise. I ended up having to take a different direction in my career as I didn't want to use a cm or nursery and have no family support.

I ended up working from home; becoming self employed which gave me the flexibility I needed.

Hotbot Tue 17-Dec-13 06:37:11

Good nursery, tho it's sad that she's had such a hard term too.