This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Au pairs and English classes

(19 Posts)
Mummyoftheyear Sat 02-Nov-13 20:06:39

My au pair would like to take English classes. The only ones that are on when I'm not working start at 9am. To go to them, this would mean that she'd be leaving the house at 8am. Her mother and aunt just came to visit and said that she should be doing them as it's an exchange and that she needs to get out of the house. I agree entirely but have an au pair (vs babysitter) so that she can finish up house chores until about 10 am. It's going to mean extra stress and pressure to get out of the house in the mornings
I'm a teacher and began my teaching career as a TEFL teacher. I have been giving free lessons to her and to her friend for one hour, once a week. I agree that it'll be good for her to get out. Just the timings are rubbish. I work from home 5-8, so can't have her going to evenings. It's a tricky one. Tbh, I'm wondering whether I should just get a babysitter instead.

rubyslippers Sat 02-Nov-13 20:09:24

why can't she finish her chores in the evening?

Genuine question - i have a nanny and don't mind if she does the breakfast dishes in the morning or when she picks the kids up from school later on

and i am currently trying to recruit an au pair (for next year) and understand that language classes are a part of the 'Deal" as it were in their child free time

Mummyoftheyear Sat 02-Nov-13 20:12:29

I was really clear about the hours at the outset and will just do the dishes, kitchen, laundry and washing machine myself rather than look at it until 4 or. 5 o'clock. Hence my point about getting a childminder. It's not as if I'm sitting on my laurels at home. I assess children and am busy writing up reports. I just couldn't live in a shit hole and would end up running out of time to get my work done.

Artandco Sat 02-Nov-13 20:15:40