Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

Nanny hidden costs

(14 Posts)
strawberrybubblegum Mon 07-Oct-13 23:09:11

Hi,

I'm thinking of hiring a nanny (shared with a friend), and I'm trying to make sure I understand the full possible costs. Some of my questions might seem mean, but I am genuinely not trying to get out of anything - just making sure that this is something I can afford (otherwise I'll choose a different type of childcare). Any help appreciated - I'm a novice at this!

1. On top of Gross pay (i.e. with PAYE and NI contributions), the direct costs I can see are:
- Employers liability insurance
- company to do payroll
- food and activity money for the nanny and the children (do you usually only pay petrol money for activities during the day, or also their commute to your home?)
- alternative childcare on holidays and the days she is sick

Is there anything else I've missed?

2. We'd like the nanny to be Ofsted registered, so that we can use childcare vouchers from our work. If she isn't already Ofsted registered, would you expect the employer to pay for:
- the registration?
- the first aid course? (we'd obviously like her to have that even apart from registration!)
- I think we'll only consider applicants who have a childcare qualification, so that part of the registration should already be OK.
- I'd assume that she would pay for the public liability insurance?