Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

Interview activity for 6yo with sen?

(25 Posts)

I've been offered an interview for a lovely looking job and have been told by the agency to arrange an activity.

I have never done this at interview before and the child has sen. All I know about this isthat she has global delays and language difficulties. I have no idea to what extent so have no clue what type of activity to do, no clues as to what the child likes either.

Any ideas as to what I could do? I was thinking of pre cutting some clothes to stick onto a person base I pre make too.

Judyandherdreamofhorses Wed 07-Aug-13 20:32:59

Sounds like a difficult situation! I would have thought it would be better, from the point of view of the parents and child, for them to have an activity that the child likes and to observe you interacting with her.

Still, that's not the task! Your idea sounds fine, or you could take along some small world play and just...play. Farm set, small dolls' house maybe?

That's what I've done in past interviews! Just played with what they have. I don't have any small world toys, or any toys for that matter! Was going to run to adsa tomorrow night to buy crafty bits for the activity. I'm nervous I'll mess up, looks like a fantastic job rehabs would suit really well with the job in staying in.

Which, not rehabs, bloody phone

NarkyNamechanger Wed 07-Aug-13 20:39:29

Could you put together a story sack?