Note: Please bear in mind that this is a discussion board, not a place to advertise childcare vacancies or recruit childminders/nannies etc. We don't mind the odd mumsnet regular mentioning that they're looking for a job/mindee (although you're probably better off in MN Local) but repeated job "ads" and posts from nanny/babysitting agencies aren't fair to people who are paying for small business ads. Do feel free to report any you see. Thanks, MNHQ.

What's the best thing about your nanny?

(11 Posts)
berrycake Wed 24-Apr-13 03:21:28

I have just started a new job as a nanny for a 2 year old girl. This is my first time being a nanny (I have loads of experience working with children in other settings), and I just really want to be the best nanny I can.
So basically I just want to know what you think makes a great nanny. Any hints or tips from employers or nannies themselves are very appreciated. Thanks smile

Strix Wed 24-Apr-13 08:16:11

There are so many things I could say. I'll just choose one:

Know when to take the lead and when to step back.

I think that is one of the hardest things for a nanny to get right, but it is so important. I'm sure every employer is different so will you just need to work where yours is. But, sometimes parents want you to pick up the ball and run with it. And sometimes they want to be parents themselves and prefe you step back.

nannynick Wed 24-Apr-13 08:51:30

Be super reliable.

Emily28 Wed 24-Apr-13 09:18:15

I absolutely adore our nanny!
She doesn't overwhelm the kids with goodies but she makes them laugh and my kids are sad to watch me go but happy they'll be with her.
My 5-year-old sid: "mummy, she's family now so she has to come forever."
grin I think the best characteristic apart from reliability is that she's such a sweet girl and has earned my trust through making me feel the kids are in safe hands. And believe me I never thought I'd say this smile

PipsWife Wed 24-Apr-13 09:22:18