This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

does this exist?

(14 Posts)

who said anything about nothing? what i was thinking of paying is above the going rate here where most cleaners would get £6ph - if they land well more than that. your average student job would pay minimum wage and nursery workers that or not much more.

i appreciate that may sound cheap if you live in london but i've made clear i don't if you actually read the face rather than just pull faces smile

ReetPetit Sat 19-Jan-13 16:55:32

hmm so you are basically answering your own question then??

you may find someone but i think you need to be prepared to pay the going rate tbh. no one does something for nothing these days!!

i dunno - i think for a local student (with whom i could work out which days worked for us around their/my timetable) or a retired person would be fine and not need premium rate. i basically did this job when i was a student - picked the kids up, took them home, cooked them dinner and did their homework with them and maybe tidied the kitchen and loaded the dishwasher or hung out the washing or some such. i loved my job and it was ideal for me then.

minderjinx Sat 19-Jan-13 08:03:30

I think you may struggle to find someone due to the timing, very short hours and the fact that what you are after isn't a normal role. A babysitter would look after your son but not expect to have to do chores, plus this is too early for most people with either a job or study to be available, and they would normally do several hours together which helps to justify any travel time. A cleaner would sort out your chores but most would expect to have a key and do it when they could fit you in - not be tied to your timetable or have additional childcare responsibilities. I think you have to expect to pay a premium to attract people if your requirements are awkward or unusual.