This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Pay question - please help!

(50 Posts)
AforApple Sat 05-Jan-13 09:34:06

I have been asked to look after two children aged 8 and 3 for eight and a half days whilst parents are away. The 8 year old will be at school for six days and I will do half the school runs whilst the 3 year old is at nursery for two mornings, plus a couple of other short classes. I will be living in preparing meals, doing washing and cleaning etc.

I am a 3rd year university student with a pediatric first aid course and have worked for this family before. 2 summers sole charge throughout the day and some nights. Please could you tell me what is reasonable to charge - no nanny qualifications and a student.

Thanks!!

Well a CM would be at least £4ph per dc for all hours needed....that would £1500 for the eight days! Maybe you could charge £5ph from waking to bedtime total and then have an 'overnighter' rate per night (say £40 each night).

Remember you will still need to be avaliable for the elder dc while they are at school incase of ilness etc so charging for your time then too is acceptable.

NotThoughtOfMy2013NNyet Sat 05-Jan-13 09:44:51

I'd agree with 8 an hour and a flat nightly rate too. What are the parent's offering?

AforApple Sat 05-Jan-13 09:48:13

£250 for the whole week. I have never had a problem with pay before but its not worth my while at this rate. Unfortunately I committed before finding out the pay.

lauriedriver Sat 05-Jan-13 09:50:30

£250!! Wow I paid almost as much as that for my dog to be babysat for a fortnight

shock £250 for eight days straight at 24 hrs a day - the bloody cheek!!!

You should be getting £250 just for the night duty

AforApple Sat 05-Jan-13 10:01:14

Not really sure how to handle it now, as I can't back out with such short notice.

When did they ask/you accept and when did they inform you of the rate? When are they going away?