This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Questions to ask prospective CM's

(7 Posts)

Hi

I've looked at the similar thread and have copied the list of questions but as it will be my (then) 4 mth old dd I will be entrusting I wondered if there were any important/relevant questions to ask??

I have no experience of cm's so am clueless - here's the couple I have thought of:

If dd is restless and fractious for most of the day, how would you calm her and look after your other charges??

If dd started to cry, how long would she be left before being comforted?

PenguinBear Fri 04-Jan-13 07:51:27

Is also want to know what her policy is on taking children out, if he has anyone helping her / round regularly and are they CRBed, what her waning policy is and does she attend any groups/would she be willing to?

smile

mindingalongtime Fri 04-Jan-13 08:35:23

I'm interested to know what a "waning policy" is? I don't have one!

I say to new parents - Go with your gut instinct, ask yourself, can I see my child in this setting, do I think she wold be happy here, visualise her on the floor playing, pop her on the floor and look around her, does it feel right.

How does the childminder react or speak to her, some will approach straightaway, some bide their time until the child has been there a little while, judging when to pick up your little one.

Most childminders are very experienced at settling i new babies, I look at those in my setting and take into account who already have and their developmental stage, is it right for them too, to have a new baby at that time.

The dynamics make a huge difference to the setting, I have turned people down as I did not think that they or maybe their child was right for me and my setting, after all I have a duty of care to those children too.