This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Afterschool childminding

(16 Posts)

When my dd was a preschool, I paid for the full day as you do. Now she s at school FT, I pay only for the hours she is there during term time but for full days in the school holidays.

Goldchilled7up Thu 20-Dec-12 21:53:29

I will do anothercuppa. Thank you

anothercuppaplease Thu 20-Dec-12 21:30:50

I charge by the hour. Term time only. It depends on the CM but you should have an open discussion early on to figure out what her terms are.

Goldchilled7up Tue 18-Dec-12 20:30:22

Thank you leeloo and looneytune, as I'm currently studying it will be term time only, but it will change in the future. All the posts have been very helpful.

looneytune Tue 18-Dec-12 13:21:15

I charge all until they are at school FULL TIME.

Once at school, they pay for either before or after school care or both, if required.

I do offer term time only contracts and school holiday contracts but some wouldn't be able to fill spaces with just school holiday care and therefore may charge full days during school holidays so think about whether or not you need all year round care or term time only.

leeloo1 Mon 17-Dec-12 23:02:33

Its worth considering what you want to happen in the holidays/on inset days - will the CM have your DS or will you? - as this may affect how much you pay - e.g. you'll probably be asked to pay before/after school fees during termtime and full time fees in the hols, but some CMs pro-rata it so you'd pay the same each month (so they wouldn't lose out if you left just before a holiday).

Every CM is different though, so probably best to have a chat about it. smile

Goldchilled7up Mon 17-Dec-12 23:01:30

HSMM thank you it looks like it must be the norm then

Goldchilled7up Mon 17-Dec-12 23:00:10

Thank you letchatnoir, your post is very helpful.

HSMM Mon 17-Dec-12 22:07:54