This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Mental health history and childminding

(7 Posts)
badgerhead Mon 03-Dec-12 16:05:08

I wouldn't write it off completely, why not try phoning Ofsted and ask to speak to a manager on the team who deal with registrations of new childminders, don't get fobbed off by whoever answers the phone, they don't always know what they're talking about. wink

Namechangeincognito Mon 03-Dec-12 14:21:18

Thats pretty much exactly my situation - I went missing and the police picked me up to go to hospital. The sections have only ever been the short 24hr version that the police can use. All hospitalisations have been voluntary. I always have complied with treatment (apart from getting into police cars when I am already terrified of imaginary things)

Looks like it is out of the question then, as is going back to care work (I have 7 years experience with the elderly and my degree is relevant)

How shit. Police shouldn't get to make medical decisions - I've had some shocking treatment off police who don't understand MH and now this.

I'm nearly at the end of a degree in social policy and literature, I suppose all the careers that use them can be written off too.

I HE my three, and I love doing educational and crafty things with my kids and when others come round to play. My house is practically a nursery as it is, and I have studied child development, art and social issues at degree level. There is a shortage of childminder places in the area and none at all without dogs in the house. Meh.

This makes me :-(

mamadoc Mon 03-Dec-12 13:44:56

Was there any police involvement at all eg when you were sectioned?
Even though you did nothing wrong it may still show up and be the cause of a refusal.