This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Outdoor child minder - interested?

(26 Posts)
junkyardgyp Wed 14-Nov-12 16:45:16

Hi I am considering registering as a child minder but with a difference. My idea is to have parents drop off and pick up their little ones at my house where I will then drive them out of the city (20 mins approx) to a lovely rural location with a yurt and a wood burner. Where we will immerse ourselves in all things muddy and natural. I am a primary teacher with outdoor experience and a forest school level 2 qualification. Please let me know if you think this sounds like a service you would use for your little one. Thankyou

GrimAndHumourless Wed 14-Nov-12 16:50:58

There is a nursery in Scotland that is totally outdoor-based

I think there was an article in the Times a while back along these lines (can't link as Paywall, and I read in the paper version) with some CMs and preschools whose settings are outdoor based giving their experiences/viewpoints

You need to do your research, and think about things like what if parents don't want a set drop off/pick up, H and S implications, permission from landowner yadda yadda

I think it's a FAB idea, v appealing

cashmere Wed 14-Nov-12 16:51:17

My little boy would love that (2,8 years). Currently sat in the back garden in the dark. Have put his igloo tent together today and he's sat inside with a cup of tea!
Where do you live?

lisad123 Wed 14-Nov-12 16:53:07

Sounds wonderful grin

My dses are past that age now, but if it had been a possibility when they were in nursery, I would definitely have considered it - they would have loved it!

Would you be considering taking babies, or just toddlers?

Hopefully Wed 14-Nov-12 17:34:03

Brilliant idea! I would def have considered for DSs. My questions would have been:
- various H&S questions (emergencies etc)
- bad weather plans
- how to stop different age kids getting cold/bored