This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Nanny share question

(18 Posts)
Lala29 Tue 22-May-12 09:52:51

Hi, I am very new to all this and was hoping someone could help. I thinking of a nanny share and wondering how much it will cost us. Is it a different price to looking after 2 children from the same family and if so, why? Both children are pretty much the same age ( a boy and girl 2 months apart) and will be around a year old. We are near Bromley, so close to London. I had a total gross figure of £10-11/ hr in my head. Is that unrealistic? Thank you!

Lala29 Tue 22-May-12 09:55:55

Also just to clarify, We were planning on doing 1 week my house, 1 week the other mum's. Children would always be in the same place for the nanny, so no extra work in terms of picking up/ dropping off. Things like double buggies, etc will all be provided. We are looking for live out.
Thanks so much for your help!

HolyCameraConfusionBatman Tue 22-May-12 13:19:54

I think £10-11ph gross is ok, although the more experienced nannies will be looking for a bit more, around £12-13ph gross is the going rate in London. Often nanny shares do pay more, though I've known others to offer the same as a one-family job. The reason nanny shares pay more is because they are generally far more hassle for the nanny and therefore less appealing (I know several nannies who have done shares who say 'NEVER AGAIN!') and ultimately it's about supply and demand (loads of families want nanny shares, not many nannies want to do them).

The reason they are more hassle is because of things like;
holidays - are you and the other family going to take your holiday at the same time, or is the nanny going to lose out?