How long did it take for you to stop looking pregnant after the birth?

(8 Posts)
Soontobemama Fri 16-Aug-13 18:30:54

My baby is 4 days old today and I still look pregnant. How long should I expect to wait until my stomach starts to go down?

Obviously I know its going to take a while but I'm new to all this and have no idea whats normal.

I had an emergency section and my legs are still really swollen too. I got a big shock when I looked in the mirror after I got home and saw them as nobody had warned me and I hadn't really gained weight on them during the pregnancy so I was a bit WTF!?

Also did any one else find they had no appetite afterwards? I'm not sure if its as a result of the tiredness or a side effect of the epidural etc.

karinmaria Fri 16-Aug-13 18:36:15

I didn't have a section but it took my tummy about two months to fully go down (!). I did ask the GP at my 6 week check (which was more like a 10 week check) and she said it was normal as the uterus takes about 8 weeks to contract.

Swelling after labour/birth (assume you had labour as it was an EMCS) is quite common - my legs also swelled and feet were big! Worth checking with your midwife when she visits if its really bad though.

And congratulations!!

HepsibarCrinkletoes Fri 16-Aug-13 18:38:58

DD1 - I didn't really as was pregnant again when she was 8 weeks old and had 9 months of munchies...
DD2 - about a week.
DS - immediately. He was born at 28 weeks, I'd not even discovered I was pregnant until 6 weeks previously and didn't show at all.
DD3 - ELCS at 38 weeks, again immediately. I barely showed at all with her and was a stone lighter after having her than I was at the start of my pregnancy.

Your uterus does need time to contract though and I'm pretty sure that hat can take up to a week/ten days. Don't fret

PeriodMath Fri 16-Aug-13 18:46:04