Pubic bone pain after birth *tmi warning*

(8 Posts)
glorious Sun 17-Mar-13 16:33:55

Sorry if this is tmi. It's six weeks since I had DD. The birth was straightforward except she came out with her hand by her head and I have a second degree tear which was stiched. It feels fine and isn't sore to touch and neither is anything else.

But I get a deep pinching or splintering pain in my pubic bone when on the loo and the same pain but much worse when we tried to have sex. It's odd because it's in the opposite direction to the tear i.e. towards the front rather than the back, and feels deeper.

I've got my 6 week check soon so will try to be brave and mention it. But has anyone else had the same thing? Might everything still just be settling down or does it need looking at?

Thanks thanks thanks

mayhew Sun 17-Mar-13 16:41:10

The pelvic floor muscles are attached to the pubic bone. Maybe the attached bit got injured during the delivery. Bearing down to poo or the movement of sex could cause the pain. I would mention it at the check.

Soft tissue injuries usually do heal but a womens health physio might be able to advise and treat. Your GP can refer or you might be able to self-refer.

glorious Sun 17-Mar-13 17:38:13

Thanks mayhew that's helpful. I'll investigate the physio and have a chat with the gp.

atrcts Mon 18-Mar-13 08:10:33

I developed spd AFTER giving birth - didn't have any hint of it in pregnancy.

That is also a front-of-the-pelvis boney pain so you might have that? If so you'll definitely benefit from Physio.

glorious Mon 18-Mar-13 10:11:36

thanks atrcts I did wonder about that though do you think it would hurt more often in that case? Hope yours cleared up ok.

atrcts Wed 20-Mar-13 00:08:34

No, I am getting spd in this (my 2nd) pregnancy but didn't have it while carrying the first baby - only after actually giving birth.