ELCS purely due to preference - what would you do?

(48 Posts)
TwitchyTail Tue 29-Jan-13 18:10:50

I'm almost 33 weeks with my first baby. For months I've had problems with the placenta which meant that an ELCS was expected. But now the problem has unexpectedly resolved itself, and I was told that there would be no problem with me going for a vaginal delivery. The only caveat is that I will need continuous monitoring of the fetus and it will need to be in the obstetric unit (not MLU).

This has thrown my brain into complete disarray, as I was all geared up for ELCS and secretly was really happy with this plan. I'm not tokophobic, I haven't had any traumatic experiences, there is now no medical reason for me to have one... basically I have no excuse, but I just feel that I prefer to take the risks of an ELCS than the more unpredictable risks of a VB. I know C-sections aren't the easy option (I'm a doctor and assisted in both types of birth during my medical training - admittedly a long time ago), but virtually everyone who has had an ELCS has a positive story to tell and I've heard so many first-baby VB horror stories.

Consultant will still let me have it but her advice would be for VB because there's no reason not to and I can tell she thinks I'm a giant fussy pfb wuss .

I'd really appreciate some honest opinions as to whether I'm being daft/unwise to consider having an ELCS just because I would prefer one.

bonzo77 Tue 29-Jan-13 18:41:43

I would have a CS every time. Yes, there are significant risks. But same with a VB. Like you I have some medical training and although i had no other option but CS both times, it