Section in 3 days - eeek!!

(6 Posts)
PipIsOutNow Tue 08-Jan-13 12:43:31

I'm booked in for a section this Friday due to complications and I'm absolutely cacking my pants! My first birth ended in an EMCS so I know how shit the recovery is. I don't know whether to feel nervous/excited or what! Need someone to hold my hand (or slap my face!)

loubeebaby Tue 08-Jan-13 15:41:23

I am no expert as I am only 6 weeks with DC1. But I have been reading "Positive Approach to Caeserean Birth and Recovery" (I am having a ELCS) and it clearly states that a EMCS and ELCS are very different in the way they are handled and the risks involved. In other threads I have read of ladies who say their ELCS recovery was much better than EMCS. As I say no first hand experience but this is my findings so far! Good Luck!

Chislemum Tue 08-Jan-13 19:22:54

had an elcs and recovery was rubbish - however, birth experience was calm. on balance: would do it again.

feel excited about meeting little one and HUGS!!!!!

curiousgeorgie Tue 08-Jan-13 23:36:23

I had an ELCS on a Wednesday afternoon and on the Friday morning I discharged myself and went home via Starbucks grin

Comparing my recovery with friends recoveries after an emcs things are really different. You will be fine, think positively wink

I had an emergency CS with my DS and 3 years later a planned one with my DD. One thing I heard, and also found that this was my experience, is the whole thing including the recovery was better with the planned one. I found it a lovely experience, although I did find that 2nd time around I had an overhang (TMI alert) and I found that made it more sore. I used a soft muslin folded into a strip and secured by my pants to keep it dry and stop the pants from digging in.
Oh, and as I was advised, don't forget to get some full granny knickers so that the elastic doesn't end up resting on your scar.