i need advice on how to set parental controls for an android tablet

(11 Posts)
SantaIAmSoFuckingRock Fri 14-Dec-12 01:50:09

i have no experience of parental controls so i need to know what is available, what is most reliable, and also how to set it up. TIA.

Pod1 Fri 14-Dec-12 12:56:12

Hi I'm afraid I can't offer any advice but I'm struggling with exactly the same problem at the moment, so I thought I'd sit and wait with you until an internet wizard comes along!

SantaIAmSoFuckingRock Fri 14-Dec-12 20:07:26

just bumping incase anyone's about.

Hi my children have a galaxy tab which is android. I tried lots of free ones but found them difficult to use. The best one we now have is net nanny. Its a free trial and then you pay. Its good as it blocks lots of searches which the others didn't. Even searching for girls wallpaper on the other allowed inappropriate sites to show. The block function works really well and allows you to set your own filter. It also allows YouTube but blocks inappropriate videos so allows them to search for 'funny cat' videos. We have found though that even though it blocks vrious YouTube videos it still allows access to YouTube which has no filters on. To be on the safe side now I've removed YouTube off the tab until Dd curiosity sauna.

TyroneDontMoan Mon 18-Mar-13 07:04:11

Message deleted by Mumsnet for breaking our Talk Guidelines. Replies may also be deleted.

AmelieMaren Tue 02-Apr-13 23:07:31

In the past decade, the emergence of digital cameras and smartphones made it possible for parents to document and picture their children’s life to a much higher extent then ever before.

This research aims to explore the role of digital photography in family life. Parents will be asked to talk about their experiences, thoughts and feelings surrounding photographing their children.

I am a Masters Student of Psychology at the London School of Economics and this is my dissertation project.