Beginner in keeping chickens

(10 Posts)
Katka52 Wed 24-Aug-16 02:33:13

Hello,

I'm new to keeping chickens. I do not have any yet. But was thinking having 4 or 5. I would welcome any tips please.Which ones are good and is 4-5 not enough or too much, etc..?!

Thank yousmile

Rubytuesday2980 Wed 24-Aug-16 02:50:43

I would take your size of family into consideration - we have 3 chickens and when they're all laying (not broody/moulting/having an off week) they will lay approx 6 eggs each/18 eggs altogether every week! If you get just 'standard' chickens, they'll easily do this, if you choose specific breeds based on what they look like, you might find that they lay slightly less. Egg production goes down with age too.

Freespirit99 Sun 11-Sep-16 21:47:58

Sorry to jump in here, but I inherited 2 chickens and 4 ducks when I moved in 6 weeks ago and their egg production has just stopped completely this last week. I wasn't expecting this. Can I do anything to encourage them into laying again?

ZippyNeedsFeeding Sun 11-Sep-16 21:59:08

Freespirit, I used to breed chickens and ducks, so hopefully I can help.
Going off the lay can be caused by all sorts of things.How old are they? Are they moulting? If they are, then that may be your lot for this year. Chickens are also day length sensitive, so shorter days can make them stop laying. What are you feeding them? A balanced diet is important, as is plenty of grit. It's a good ides to buy/borrow a book about keeping poultry and you will get more of a detailed idea about what they need.