Talk to me about worming chickens

(12 Posts)
Consils Wed 31-Oct-12 08:57:06

We have had chickens before and I can't remember what to do re worming. Surely I don't have to take one to the vet in order to get prescription worming stuff? I have never done that before. I have bought some stuff called Verm-X from the pet shop but not used it yet. They are nearly 20 weeks and not laying yet.

I use verm x, not very often though blush I dont get anything from the vet, never had any problems.

I use flubenvet - it's a powder that you can buy online without a vet prescription. You add a measure of the powder to 2kg of layers pellets and mix, then feed the hens only the medicated food for 7 days (make another 2kg batch up if it runs out). You can't eat the eggs for 7 days. Chickens should be wormed every 3/4 months I think.

I can't remember where I bought it from but here is one seller www.animalmedicationdirect.co.uk/flubenvet-1-small-flock-poultry-wormer-60g-pr-5789.html

Consils Wed 31-Oct-12 17:47:56

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?view=att&th=139b7004834ff63e&attid=0.1&disp=vah&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9zGBPy9VdunMxNMB4IB5wa&sadet=1351672481282&sads=wCjnH6Fnw17kGytWm-VXSLaUIJ0&sadssc=1

TunipTheHollowVegemalLantern Wed 31-Oct-12 17:54:38

Flubenvet is more effective than Verm-X but there's a Flubenvet supply problem at the moment. I'm not sure what I'm going to do when I run out of Flubenvet - perhaps Frontline?

zillyzilly Wed 31-Oct-12 18:40:30

Oh, thanks for the Flubenvet tips. smile I was wondering why Verm-X didn't seem to be working.

Crikeyblimey Wed 31-Oct-12 18:49:49

I use Verm-X cos there is no egg withdrawal time. I've had no problems with it. Just add to the pellets for 3 days and Bob's your uncle (so to speak). I worm them every 2 months.

There's no egg withdrawal time with Flubenvet. Apparently you can't eat the actual chicken for 7 days though grin.