Hyundai i10 stalling?

(8 Posts)

I've had mine for 2 years now and never experienced this problem. Though the car I was driving before was a really, really old Fiat Panda that could only do corners and bends in 2nd gear (always fun trying to get onto a motorway if it wasn't a dead straight slip road) so perhaps I'm naturally over-compensating on the clutch?

I adore mine though. It's the zippiest car I've ever driven and I can park it ANYWHERE!

OatcakeCravings Tue 24-Sep-13 15:11:46

I will do.

Just stalled 3 times coming out the drive! I'm lucky I made it to school pick up in time!!

CatherineHMumsnet (MNHQ) Tue 24-Sep-13 15:07:24

Really interesting stuff - would be great if you'd all add your review of the car here in Mumsnet Cars as well.

OatcakeCravings Tue 24-Sep-13 13:08:41

Thanks! Wish I hadn't bought the bloody thing!!

mintgreenchilli Tue 24-Sep-13 12:48:24

You do have to learn some pretty good control of the gas pedal. Just enough to get you going on a slow start. It took me months before I stopped stalling completely, and even now I do it occasionally in a traffic jam!

OatcakeCravings Tue 24-Sep-13 12:37:41

Thanks Mintgreen, I know what you mean about over reving but when I do that I seem to shoot forward when I'm in first and I'm scared that I hit the car in front! I live in an area where there are loads of roundabouts on hills!

mintgreenchilli Tue 24-Sep-13 10:24:08

I have an i20 and the clutch is far more sensitive than I'm used to. You need to rev it a bit more when setting off - it's quite noisy but hoping the fuel efficiency overall makes up for it :\

OatcakeCravings Tue 24-Sep-13 10:21:01

Does anyone have a Hyuandai i10 and if you do, do you find that it stalls a lot when moving off?

I'm a brand new driver and my DH was blaming my driving style until he took it out and had the same problem! He has been driving for 20 years. I have it booked into the garage next week for them to look at it but need to drive it in the meantime.