How do Trade-ins work?

(16 Posts)
LazyFaire Wed 07-Aug-13 10:24:44

I'm 25 and driving the car I used to share with my mum, she gifted it to me after I left Uni so I have no experience in buying or trading in cars. My DP has a history of getting lemons and this will be our main car (EG needs to be reliable so when his breaks down he can use mine!)

My car is an 04 plate Punto, recently MOTed and had welding done which I have been advised will be an ongoing problem (not a car person me) so would be good to get rid if I can. Also has advisories RE tyres and brake lines, a small crack in windscreen which has been autoglassed but probably should be replaced (just scraped through the MOT) and a crack in the bumper which I would replace if worth it before trying to sell. Just retaxed until Jan 14 as well.

If you trade in a car, can you get like for like-ish or do they expect you to pay more on top (for a better/newer car?)

Will I get my money's worth trading in or should I sell mine then buy another?

Is trade-in only really through dealers or can you get one on Whatcar/Auto trader/Gumtree/local garage/ anywhere else?

Based on the info I gave, any idea roughly how much it might be worth?

Thanks for helping a car noobie if you can smile

AKAK81 Wed 07-Aug-13 12:12:04

I'd say you'll be lucky to get more than about 500 quid for that trade in. I assume you're not looking to spend much more so it would probably be best selling privately and then buying privately. Anything you buy from a dealer for under 2k will most likely be in shed territory.

LazyFaire Wed 07-Aug-13 12:19:24

shed territory? Does that mean nearly broken? I could probably add another 500 but would be credit card money.

Would I get more than £500 selling, or is trade in value basically what it's worth?

Is it worth doing the fixes before selling (eg. would I get the money I spent back, or would it just be worth the same but look nicer?)

WMittens Wed 07-Aug-13 13:18:12