ZOMBIE THREAD ALERT: This thread hasn't been posted on for a while.

Another Newbie request: help me get my gear together pls?

(4 Posts)
LowLevelWhinging Mon 15-Jul-13 10:52:53

I'm trying to convince DP that camping will be BRILLIANT FUN! grin

We have a tent, bought because our 2 older boys are going with their grandfather next week. But I want to use it too!

DCs are 7,5 and 13mo.

I know there's a list, so I've got that.

What are the extras that make it easier if we're not used to roughing it?

Should I have got the footprint and carpet?

And how do you store it all?

And what pretty things can I get to glamp it up a bit? I'll make some bunting obviously wink

And why does the list say we need buckets?? Apart from night wees... <shudder>

dippingmytoeinagain Mon 15-Jul-13 18:36:22

I am fairly new to camping - got 4 trips under my belt this year and am quite addicted already.

I haven't yet invested in a footprint or carpet, but think I will get a carpet at some point - I did after the first trip get a doormat for just inside the tent as I quickly got irritated at the wet footprints that kept appearing smile . Maybe see how you like it before investing in carpets etc...

I keep my tent inside the house, tucked under a bed. The poles, mallet and pegs are in the same bag so I don't forget them. I could keep it in the garage but that could be a bit too spidery for my liking...I have the self inflated mattresses under the same bed (unrolled) and all of my kitchen items and torches are in a collapsible crate in the garage, so that when I am unpacked, the crates can be folded up if necessary in the back of the car.

Bedding I transport in big laundry style bags as these are lightweight and flatten to nothing once they are empty.

I don't have a bucket but should possible swop the washing up bowl for a bucket - easier to carry to and from the washing up point I guess...