Baking cakes for fund raising please share your best easiest fool proof cake recipes as I

(11 Posts)
Dickorydockwhatthe Sun 10-Aug-14 15:50:12

am not the best cook. I've promised dh I will bake some cakes for his work place as my hubby is raising money for a childrens charity. He is due to take part in a race event but wants to reach is target so is looking for ways to top up funds. I am a useless cook and I have a feeling dh has also asked his mum to bake who has lots more time and experience then me (that's my excuse) !! I have a feeling our baking skills will be put to a vote by dh just to make it more fun hmm (sick sense if humour) but hey it's for charity I guess!!! Please help me. I am thinking if a Victoria sponge, carrot cake, chocolate cake and maybe biscuits?? What do you think??? Pleased share fool proof recipes ideas pretty please grin

ClaimedByMe Sun 10-Aug-14 15:55:00

Nigellas malteser traybake thing, google it, i made it on friday for a fundraiser yesterday and it all sold first, easy, no actual cooking and quick.

Dickorydockwhatthe Sun 10-Aug-14 15:58:14

Oh fab will have a look.

Andcake Sun 10-Aug-14 16:08:24

Delias all in one sponge - google it really v easy for Victoria sponge but can have other flavours added.
Also fridge cake
www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/chocolatefridgecake_74814
V easy I managed it for a thing with a tiny newborn buy the nicest chocolate you can afford and it wins - I usually mix cheap milk and posh dark - yum

msrisotto Sun 10-Aug-14 16:14:56

Awesome chocolate fudge cake which works every time
Lindy's Chocolate Fudge Cake

I also recommend fridge cake, this one is called Tiffin from the place that shall not be named wink Tiffin - Totally amazing with a mix of cranberries and raisins.

Dickorydockwhatthe Mon 11-Aug-14 10:54:59

Hmm that fridge cake sounds yummy I may have to do a trial run with a few of these wink

scones made with cream works every time!

Jellylove Mon 11-Aug-14 11:04:37