(Wedding) Fruit cake recipes and tips please!!

(15 Posts)
nannycook Tue 20-May-14 18:10:54

Laughs uncontrollably at mammals, obviously meant ,mam. Ha ha.

nannycook Tue 20-May-14 18:09:42

So glad, hate suggesting a recipe only to find it doesn't turn out as peeps expect it to.

My mammals always used graving Browning in rich fruit cakes, it makes them lovely and dark without adding any flavour, I used well over quarter of a bottle for that amount,it was h
Just a tip, but up to you if you wanted to use it, I used to be a cook, well still am and always came up with some tips, its like when your making gravy, and you find you've added too much gravy Browning, you think oh no what now, simple solution, add some milk to lighten it, no flavour just a lightened.

Nasturtium89 Tue 20-May-14 18:00:51

*by using

Nasturtium89 Tue 20-May-14 18:00:20

Just taken my 4 inchers out of their tins and they are soooo dark and rich looking. Yay!!!

Thanks so much for the recipe suggestion nanny.

I think Alan Dunn's suggestion of spreading some unfruited mix over the top of the cake to stop fruit burning is a great idea and when I level the cakes and chop that bit off, all the fruit underneath will be delicious and moist. I never get such good results but using the baking-paper-wth-a-hole-in method.

I'm excited!!

Nasturtium89 Tue 20-May-14 15:11:44

OK the cakes are in now and I'm petrified they're going to be too dry, like my Delia tester was. I'm SURE this is the recipe my old boss used to use at an internship I did (she didn't let me do any baking so I can't be totally sure hmm), figs etc..... But hers was much darker in colour. When I feed it will it get darker?? I didn't use gravy browning as not sure how, or what that even is. Knowing me I'd use an Oxo cube and end up with a beef-flavoured cake grin