Note: This topic allows you to post a picture with your message using the Browse button under the Add Message box. You can only post one pic per message - and it will always appear above the text of your message, whichever order you browse/type in. If your pic doesn't appear to have loaded, refresh the page (they can be slow to appear). If it doesn't load at all, try making it smaller (50KB max). We're afraid that you can't post up pictures if you're using the MN Talk App. And if you're using an iPhone or iPad, you won't be able to browse for images on your Apple device.

what is the difference between fondant icing and regalice? Plus a fairy themed cake question....

(6 Posts)
Pos1 Sun 27-Apr-14 14:58:02

hi

I'm relatively new to cake decorating - have mad a peppa pig cake with a model peppa from fondant which looked really good (if I'm allowed to say it myself) it was relatively easy as I found d a good online tutorial. I used white fondant icing which I rolled out plus some other colours for peppa etc.

My other daughter wants a fairy cake for her birthday. I was going to make a toadstool shape and decorate or make a round cake and a small toadstool to go on top, maybe with a fairy sat on top, so I hoped people would be able to help with the following questions

1) what is the difference between fondant and regalice? should I use fondant for the 3d model? if I wanted different colours do I buy already coloured fondant or already coloured regalice? or do I dye it? alternatively I can just stick to making buttercream but this wouldn't give the smooth finish I wanted...

2) I read about making a small toadstool using a pyrex for the domed top and a tin can for the stalk.... has anyone baked in either of these? its seems really odd to bake in pyrex, and even odder to use a tin van.......

3) can anyone recommend a step by step guide for fairy decorations? Or post any pics of cakes they have done?