Making a dinosaur cake, tips, advice, reassurance please!

(18 Posts)
SaltyandSweet Tue 18-Mar-14 13:58:27

So I'm an ok baker in terms of making normal cakes but I've never tried to make a decorated/designed/shaped cake before. I want to make a dinosaur cake for my son's 5th birthday this Friday. It looks simple enough - involves making two round cakes and cutting the leg shape out of one and cutting the head and tail out of the other and sticking together with buttercream. I plan on doing it the afternoon before (Thursday afternoon). I am a TOTAL novice at this and would really really appreciate any tips from more experienced bakers. I know it looks simple compared to some of the amazing cakes I've seen on here, but I am still so nervous and don't want to mess up!

Seminyak Tue 18-Mar-14 14:13:32

Looks cute smile what is it that you're not sure about?

If you can get a green gel food colouring in time, do that, because otherwise it will be hard to get a good green. Sugarflair are a good brand, but my fave green is Wilton Leaf Green - it's quite bright though.

Buttercream: beat the butter for like 10 mins until pale, then add half the sugar (sifted), combine on a low speed then turn the speed up and beat for another 5 or 10 mins, add the rest of the sugar and beat again for 5 or 10 mins. Add flavouring and milk and give a final beat. If you're using a mixer (kitchen aid, kenwood etc) rather than a food processor with a lid, you can hold a damp teatowel around the bowl to avoid a sugar cloud smile

Seminyak Tue 18-Mar-14 14:14:36

Will you cut the 2 cakes in half so you can add some filling? Or are you baking 4 rounds? smile

Seminyak Tue 18-Mar-14 14:16:44

(You can get gel food colourings on amazon btw smile )

Seminyak Tue 18-Mar-14 14:19:11

Oh and (sorry for multiple posts!!) beating the buttercream so much makes it soooooo light and delicious and very easy to spread smile

Seminyak Tue 18-Mar-14 14:20:19