Icing a 12 inch square cake

(14 Posts)
Electryone Sun 16-Mar-14 17:38:07

Im doing this next week for the bottom tier of a 3 tier birthday cake, bit nervous as I'm not that good at putting icing on the cake. I'm always thinking it will tear and I struggle to roll it and out and get it on smooth. Normally I roll it out on baking paper as I find it sticks to the work top, I bought a silicone mat and it sticks to that! Someone suggested cornflour, is this any good?

Anyway my main question is rolling it out big enough to cover the top and sides of the cake, googled it and it suggests I need 2 Kg of icing, my worktop isn't big enough anyway...what do you think is best? Rolling out a 1Kg at a time and putting it on in two parts?

Perfectlypurple Sun 16-Mar-14 17:44:05

I use icing flour and do it on a table for cakes this big. You really need 2 people to get the icing on or it could rip.

Electryone Sun 16-Mar-14 17:51:50

Thanks perfectly, never thought of using my dining table! So would I roll out all 2 kg at once then? Whats icing flour, is it icing sugar?

Perfectlypurple Sun 16-Mar-14 18:02:51

Yes. Do the 2 kg at once and yes it's icing sugar. Try to get it right on first go. The less you play with the icing the better. I usually would use more than 2 kg so you have some wiggle room.

Electryone Sun 16-Mar-14 18:40:22

Thanks again, will give it a go, the girl who wants the cake is coming along on the morning I ice it to make fake blood for it so she can help me! So over my table in icing sugar, roll out the icing and then lift, sounds ok!

Perfectlypurple Sun 16-Mar-14 18:57:48

Good luck

YoureAShoe Sun 16-Mar-14 19:04:33