Note: This topic allows you to post a picture with your message using the Browse button under the Add Message box. You can only post one pic per message - and it will always appear above the text of your message, whichever order you browse/type in. If your pic doesn't appear to have loaded, refresh the page (they can be slow to appear). If it doesn't load at all, try making it smaller (50KB max). We're afraid that you can't post up pictures if you're using the MN Talk App. And if you're using an iPhone or iPad, you won't be able to browse for images on your Apple device.

So Ive volunteered to make my dads 70th birthday cake

(4 Posts)
MrsExtraOrdinary Sat 18-Jan-14 10:41:33

I'm an amateur! I'm good at actual cakes but my icing and piping is a bit rubbish! Or occasionally fluky but not reliable.

I've got until August, surely that's long enough for me not to make a fool of myself! I want to make a traditional cake. Dad lives fruit cake, so one cake fruit and one simple sponge. I'm thinking simple shape of 70 using shaped tins. But I want to look good, so any better cake makers or decorators than me I would really appreciate the help.

missmoffatt2705 Sat 18-Jan-14 19:44:37

Have you thought of using a cake toppper with a photo of your dad doing a hobby for example? I use cake toppers for children's cakes eg Lego Starwars image or Minecraft? They come in circular and A4 sizes and as well as characters like Barbie etc, you can send your own photo to be printed on edible rice paper which you then place over fondant or buttercream. Just Google 'cake topper'. At church, I saw a cake for the priest who was leaving the country - there was a little fondant figure of him sitting on a couple of suitcases - simple but quite effective. Get a few books out from the library for inspiration.

MrsExtraOrdinary Sat 18-Jan-14 22:54:51