I need THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE RECIPE IN THE WORLD please!

(22 Posts)
PavlovtheCat Wed 23-Oct-13 11:35:05

Who has it?

I want it to be ultimate chocolately, with chocolate fondant type icing/filling. I want it to be stunning.

But, also, relatively easy to cook as I am no pro grin

Thank you in advance smile

This

www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3092/ultimate-chocolate-cake

But use 50% milk and dark chocolate in the cake, reduce the coffee to a tsp, and in the middle put a vanilla buttercream, mixed 50/50 with marscapone. Makes it less overwhelming.

I made it at the weekend and my family think it's the best cake I've ever made

Oh, and bake it in two tins, rather than trying to slice it yourself.

PavlovtheCat Wed 23-Oct-13 11:44:29

OMG that looks heavenly grin I shall make that then! Thanks for the tips.

If I bake it in two tins, rather than one, will I need to adjust the timings at all?

Yes, mine took about 50 minutes-ish.

PavlovtheCat Wed 23-Oct-13 11:49:08

how do I make vanilla buttercream? grin

About half a pack of butter, 1/3 box of icing sugar, tsp vanilla extract.
Beat together until creamy and fluffy.
Try not to eat it on its own.

PavlovtheCat Wed 23-Oct-13 11:52:33

thank you! ok, so, make the buttercream, mix with same amount of mascarpone, and spread into the middle, then cover the cake with the ganache?

nevergoogle Wed 23-Oct-13 11:55:46

oh goody, i do hope you are baking this cake for me!

i am all poorly sick after all. smile

PavlovtheCat Wed 23-Oct-13 11:56:53

ah, but, will you be able to keep it down? I would hate for it to go to waste...

nevergoogle Wed 23-Oct-13 12:00:17

i would get to taste it twice though, very efficient.

nevergoogle Wed 23-Oct-13 12:03:28

am signed off to rest this week. anti-emetics seem to work better if im not running around. so bored though. too ill to concentrate on any books or sewing.

fwiw i use betty crockers devils cake mix with the chocolate icing in a pot. it's lovely.

i'm a crap baker though.