Sinking sponge

(7 Posts)
siblingrevelry Tue 22-Oct-13 12:31:29

I'm a cake maker/decorator by profession, so would class myself as relatively experienced, but have recently had a continued problem I'd like to pick folks' brains about!

When baking a sponge in the oven, the middle doesn;t cook very well, the cake sinks whilst the outside gets darker and crispier. The mixture is the same as always has been (equal quantities of stork/caster sugar/eggs/flour plus 2oz extra for density - creamed method, eggs gradually added and flour folded gently in).

The cakes are usually cooked on low for a long time (gas 2), and until recently have been perfect. As this is a new phenomenon (but happening repeatedly), I can rule out a dodgy batch of something, and as it's a low oven I'd be surprised if it's a temp issue.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance

TeamEdward Tue 22-Oct-13 12:34:51

I'd normally put sinking down to a curdled mix, or mixing in the flour for too long, but you say that hasn't happened.
Even though it's a long, low bake maybe the oven has developed a hot spot?

StainlessSteelCat Tue 22-Oct-13 12:42:05

I wonder if your flour supplier has changed something, does sound odd. I'd second an oven problem, try checking oven temperature with thermometer, I've seen very odd fluctuations when an oven thermostat goes wrong. Even more fun, it can be intermittent which is a right bugger to track down! that was my old, not at all missed gas ovengrin . dodgy thermostat on an electric required a conversion chart on wall next to it, and a recheck with a thermometer every year or so.

StainlessSteelCat Tue 22-Oct-13 12:44:17

PS what happens at gas mark 4? do they bake ok (although quicker) at that temperature?

siblingrevelry Tue 22-Oct-13 12:52:10

Thanks for the replies.