Baking for a cake sale

(24 Posts)
Greenandcabbagelooking Sat 07-Sep-13 14:54:52

Making baked goods for a cake sale to fundraise and not sure what to make. Organiser is happy for me to make whatever I like. So, what are your best-selling items for a sale? Target markets are adults. If you are a customer, what would you like to buy?

I am a reasonable good baker, have lots of time, sale is on Wednesday. But low-cost is good to maximise profit!

Mollydoggerson Sat 07-Sep-13 14:57:21

ginger bread men.
mars bar squares
wookie-cookies

Accidentallyquirky Sat 07-Sep-13 14:59:11

Shortbread

GoofyIsACow Sat 07-Sep-13 15:03:51

Fresh crusty bread rolls... <drool>

IJustNeedANap Sat 07-Sep-13 15:27:19

Cherry bake well cake, it's easy to make and you can stack it quite high and charge a good price so a big tall slice

IslaValargeone Sat 07-Sep-13 15:29:20

lemon drizzle
millionaire's shortbread
I'm not sure gingerbread men are for an adult market?

TeamEdward Sat 07-Sep-13 15:30:30

Flapjacks
Even adults like chocolate crispy cakes.

Cheese straws and scones, sell them for lunch boxes.

dufflefluffle Sat 07-Sep-13 15:37:53

Highly decorative but simply flavoured victoria sponges seem to be a hot favourite at fundraisers I've been involved with. (think using a doily and dust icing sugar over the top type of idea)

DoItTooJulia Sat 07-Sep-13 15:39:50

Chocolate eclairs are easy enough and great for adults.

StillNoFuckingEyeDeer Sat 07-Sep-13 15:44:01

Carrot cake
Small whole cakes to take home or cupcakes/portions to eat at the time.
Good bread - loaves or rolls.
Chocolate chip cookies
Oat & raisin cookies

crikeybadger Sat 07-Sep-13 15:44:16

Lemon drizzle, macaroons, flapjack, coffee and walnut cake, mini Victoria sandwiches. Well that's what I would buy anyway.smile

Greenandcabbagelooking Sat 07-Sep-13 18:47:16

Some lovely ideas, thanks everyone.

FamiliesShareGerms Sat 07-Sep-13 18:50:09

Chocolate brownies (or even chocolate and beetroot)

Lemon drizzle