Note: This topic allows you to post a picture with your message using the Browse button under the Add Message box. You can only post one pic per message - and it will always appear above the text of your message, whichever order you browse/type in. If your pic doesn't appear to have loaded, refresh the page (they can be slow to appear). If it doesn't load at all, try making it smaller (50KB max). We're afraid that you can't post up pictures if you're using the MN Talk App. And if you're using an iPhone or iPad, you won't be able to browse for images on your Apple device.

Has anyone made a dinosaur birthday cake?

(22 Posts)
underdoggy Wed 14-Aug-13 09:10:40

I really want to make DS a dinosaur birthday cake. I have looked at several options including this which involves cutting up cake to make a dinosaur shape and also dinosaur-shaped cake tins like this.

I've never done anything like this before - want to create the most dinosaur looking cake possible and fear ending up with a green pile of sludge and having to announce, it's a dinosaur, to those who can't guess grin.

Has anyone made something like this?

nextphase Wed 14-Aug-13 09:26:47

I'd have thought the dinosaur cake tin will be difficult to turn out, and won't get much use after this birthday.

Cutting the cake looks possible - do you have some artistic ability? I know mine would look like a pile of green sludge!

I'd be inclined to buy a edible cake topper or make a green cake, and put toy dinosaurs and trees on the top - I made a farm which went down very well like this last year, and fairy cakes with cake toppers this year.
I can make cake, but can't decorate!

MomOrMum Wed 14-Aug-13 09:36:04

I made the green one you linked to and I am useless at baking. I used the Betty Crocker mix and icing to ensure the cake bit would work and then spent time on the shape cutting and icing.