My ambitious cake project!

(21 Posts)
AlpacaPicnic Mon 12-Aug-13 14:06:43

I am baking a secret cake for a friend for his birthday. I can't mention it too much IRL so I'm going to boast/panic about it here!

I am making a semi globe that when you cut into it, reveals the geological layers of the earth! Core, mantle etc... I've never done anything like it before - I must be mad!

The first cake is cooling as we speak...

Vatta Mon 12-Aug-13 18:20:16

Sounds amazing! Are they different types of cake or all sponge with food colouring?

sweetestcup Mon 12-Aug-13 19:21:31

Ooh sounds good, can you put a picture up when you are finished?

AlpacaPicnic Mon 12-Aug-13 19:27:09

I used the same Madeira cake recipe for all three layers but it came out a little bit solid so I may try something with a little more moisture next time. It tastes ok though!
Today was a practice run to see how it worked - more practicing tomorrow!

TeamEdward Mon 12-Aug-13 19:29:12

You probably need a dense cake like madeira for the inner layers as a sponge may just collapse, especially if you are laying fondant icing on top.

AlpacaPicnic Tue 13-Aug-13 12:12:40

Yesterdays came out ok but a smidge undercooked. I baked a small dome, then the middle dome containing the cooked small dome resting in the batter, then the biggest dome containing the earlier two domes iykwim. It was very tricky to tell when they were 'done'

So I'm using a slightly different way today... I'm trying a spongy recipe for the centre. Then I will cook the middle dome, using a madeira cake batter, but instead of putting the cake in the batter to cook together, I am going to try putting the dome pan in there instead to see if it bakes in the right shape, then I can sandwich the two cakes together with buttercream.

Oh no... More cake to eat!

AlpacaPicnic Tue 13-Aug-13 14:18:54