Help needed for a total novice - cooking a cake using a mould

(11 Posts)
kefybaby Tue 16-Apr-13 19:24:58

I also just made a trial castle cake for DD's birthday. I used this recipe (not chocolate but had been "sized" for the mould). A few bits of the cake broke off. I had put vegetable oil and a thin layer of flour on the mould before pouring in the mixture. I think I will try the spray next!! How long should I let the cake cool down for?
My cake also came out a bit "distorted". Any advice on how to help the mould retain its shape? The mould I have is the one shown on the site above.

Mominatrix Sun 14-Apr-13 20:54:06

I have a regularly asked for and used chocolate cake recipe which is a fabulous texture for icing. Also, because it is made with yoghurt, it is light, fluffy and moist.

Ingredients:
- 2 cups plain flour
- 2/3 cup cocoa
-1.5 tsp baking soda
- 113g softened unsalted butter
- 1.5 cups caster sugar
- 2 eggs
- 1.5 cups plain (full fat) yoghurt
- 1 tsp vanilla extract

PREHEAT OVEN TO 175C
1. Sift flour and cocoa
2. Cream sugar and butter until pale and fluffy
3. Add eggs into creamed sugar/butter mixture one at a time, fully incorporating each egg
4. Add in dry ingredients, baking soda, and yoghurt in thirds. Mix gently (will help have a lighter cake)
5. Mix in vanilla
6. Put mixture into prepared pan
7. Bake for 45-55 minutes
8. Cool for 10 minutes before inverting onto a rack to cool completely

Tip for baking with mould: Get a baking spray (I use Easy Bake), and after cake has cooled a bit, use a serated knife parallel to the tin to flatten the bottom. When inverting onto the cooling rack, I put a piece of greaseproof paper bigger than the cake on so that I can transfer the cake easily to the presentation tray

Good Luck!

TeamEdward Wed 10-Apr-13 11:59:22

Can I suggest you use a Madeira Cake if you are using a big tin and plan on lots of heavy icing or decoration? Madeira holds it shape better than "normal" sponge cake and it keeps longer too.