Setting up as a cleaner

(9 Posts)
ForestFox Mon 12-Sep-16 20:48:52

Hi everyone.

Relatively new here. I had to leave my job after my son was born as they couldn't offer me shifts that would fit around my sons nursery care. I worked as a veterinary care assistant. I have decided to look into being a self employed domestic cleaner, I did a lot of cleaning in my previous job and a super house proud and really enjoy cleaning so thought it was an obvious avenue for me to explore.

Anyone else started from scratch have any advice? I'm not sure if I should advertise myself first to see if I get any jobs and if it looks good then declare myself self employed or if I'd get into trouble for not declaring it immediately lol. I want to do everything right and above board obviously!

Many thanks in advance xxxgrin

petshopboy Wed 05-Oct-16 17:43:12

Hi i worked as a cleaner on and off for 20 years !!
Its good money but to be truthful most jobs dont last more then 2 years some clients gey bored of the cleaner or get weird and dont pay instead of saying if you havent did something its happened twice most are nice but cleaning jobs on a regular basis in my opion are just if you are lucky 3 times a week as too many people doing it now .i dont think its enough to live on i was lucky as i was living with my late mother and she paid rent so it was just pocket money for me the most i ever earned in a week was £70 14 yrs ago .hope that helps i live in london btw

gettingitwrongputingitright Wed 05-Oct-16 17:46:42

People are crying out for cleaners here. My cleaner does 8-5, 5 days a week.

ivykaty44 Wed 05-Oct-16 17:52:41

People are crying out for cleaners in my area.

Op get insurance
Work out whether you use your own products and charge more.
Charge a higher hourly rate for a fortnightly ckean
Keep all your petrol receipts, to claim back
Work out what days you want to work, nursery days
Factor in travelling time
Word of mouth is best recommendation