Nail technician or virtual assistant?

(13 Posts)
Pearl2015 Sat 20-Jun-15 19:18:51

I am currently on maternity leave with my 3rd dc (other two are at primary school) I have a business studies degree and worked in admin for 2 years before having dc and have worked part time in admin ever since. This is not where I saw myself! At 18 I wanted to be a nail technician instead of going to yin but my parents were horrified so I went to uni. I studied business hoping that I would then set up my own nail business lol. After uni I just fell into admin. I have the option to not go back after this maternity leave as my dh has a new higher paying job. I would still like to work though and have thought about either training as a nail technician or set up a business as a virtual assistant. Which would be higher earning?
Pros of doing nails are: it's what I have always wanted to do, maybe I could do it from home or travel to people
Pros of virtual assistant: I have admin experience, I could do it after dc in bed and during nap time, no set up costs as I already have all equipment
Cons of nail technician: it will cost me approx £5,000 to do the courses (Nvqs) and buy equipment which is money I do not have so I would have to take out a loan, my family will be disappointed in me for some reason
Cons of virtual assistant: I am not passionate about admin

RubberDuck Sat 20-Jun-15 19:25:19

As someone who has spent WAY too much of my life in Customer Service (again, falling into it after uni) and only now retraining to do the thing I wanted to do in the first place (computer science) - don't do a job you hate, just because the money is better.

If there's any way you can make retraining work financially, even if things are a little tight for a while, do it.

RubberDuck Sat 20-Jun-15 19:27:28