Extending craft business

(4 Posts)
Craftycamper Sat 19-Jul-14 22:43:05

Hi all, over the last two years I have set up a successful after school sewing club and also run craft camps during the school holidays.
The quality is high and I spend a lot of time planning (I am a experienced Primary School Teacher). Feedback is very positive from both children and parents.
I would really like to extend what I do to other local schools ( I currently offer provision at my children's Primary School).
I am unsure if I could package what I do and offer it to local schools, like a mini franchise, or whether I could offer myself as a consultant to other crafty mums/child care professionals.
Just really look for any ideas as to how to grow what I do as I feel sure that there is a captive market for this provision.
Thanks in advance for any ideas!

Rowingdowntheriver Wed 30-Jul-14 04:50:15

It sounds like your business is going really well so good luck!

I don't have a recommendation as to how you do this but think typically there are 3 ways to go ahead:

Franchise: I'd recommend that you steer away from expanding on a franchise basis as they are difficult to control / manage as come with lots of strings attached e.g lots of legal paperwork required / how do you ensure the quality and consistency of your service (and brand) is maintained once you have franchised out your name / how do you ensure you get paid appropriately and so on.

Employ someone to run some classes for you: better from a control pov but you'd have to find the right person that will not damage your brand. You'd also have to register as an employer, run a payroll (accountants can do this for you) and pay employers NI on top of any salary you pay them. Also all the legal stuff like sick pay / mat pay / holiday pay / minimum pay etc.