Thinking of setting up sewing workshops from home

(9 Posts)
Lindy0070 Tue 15-Apr-14 16:57:25

Hi all,

I have been thinking about this for a long time. I am a textiles teacher and am looking to reduce my hours to PT as I cannot take the stress and BS in school anymore. However, as most of you are the same, I cannot afford to just Jack it all in and follow my dream. Therefore, I have been making bags and accessories for a couple of years now and selling them in craft fairs and to friends and family. I have sold some things in a small shop on a sale or return basis but they really took advantage of my naïveté and I was treated badly financially.
Can anyone recommend or offer me any advice about the prospect of using my skills to offer sewing workshops at home. Also, I would like advice as to how to approach retailers in a confident way to sell my goods. Thanks and I look forward to your comments.

mummybare Tue 15-Apr-14 17:31:18

I go to something like this monthly and it's great. There are usually 3 or 4 of us, plus the tutor who helps us out with our own projects. We pay £45 and that includes lunch, a couple of cups of tea and some sort of mid-morning cake grin as well as the expertise and chance to get away from the kids and actually get some sewing done! It's a nice, relaxed, sociable atmosphere.

It is held at her house and she has loads of supplies, patterns, spare machines, an overlocker etc. etc., so it might be worth having a think about how you are fixed in that regard, but it can definitely work.

Good luck with it, OP.

mummybare Tue 15-Apr-14 17:33:20

Sorry, should have said, the day is 10am-6pm.

emsyj Tue 15-Apr-14 17:36:15