How hard is it to set up own law firm or consultancy from home?

(6 Posts)
Puffer123 Sat 01-Feb-14 13:56:00

First post on Mumsnet! I have about 15 years' experience as a lawyer in the City and elsewhere. Now I am in the provinces and would like to work from home. My motivation is strong, partly I love what I do/did, need to earn money to look after three DC under 7, have long wanted to create my own business.

The tricky bit is that I have no live in support (separated from ex), have not worked for the last 15 months and, perhaps, have few local contacts due to having moved here recently - though this might not matter as I can probably cast the net quite wide geographically. I want to give myself a year to see if I can get this off the ground.

All advice gratefully received!

Puffer123 Sun 02-Feb-14 08:33:11

... On re-reading, I guess I have answered my own question ... I should go for it... ?! Lack of sleep makes me really grumpy so first step is probably to work out whether I can somehow afford help during the day so I don't have to research/ write business plan/ etc during the nights. I cannot be the only one who has thought about this (though am certainly sillier than most, to have had such a long break without working, or for not trying to set up something while still working) - please share your advice! Can it possibly work? It has to be better than endless applications/ interviews/ probable long commutes/ zero flexibility at least while establishing myself in new job, right?

SimLondon Mon 03-Feb-14 12:01:27

I think there has been a couple of threads along these lines, worth searching, would insurance be an issue? Would joining Quality Solicitors be a possibility?

MannishBoy Wed 05-Feb-14 14:46:32