On Line Disabilty-accessibility awareness

(7 Posts)
Jensteronlinetraining Sun 15-Sep-13 20:22:54

Hi...please be gentle....this is my first time.

I'm a former nurse, former Glaxo Rep, who is getting back into things now that the boys are at school.

I've had a passion for ages to make sure that people with a disability, or general access issues (could simply be old age) are treated with respect from the shops, hotels, stores etc that they visit.
I've developed a pretty nice ( even if I say so myself!) website which explains it. I am really struggling with how to get the message out there to the 000's of potential customers and seem to have frozen and don't know which way to turn.
Do any of you lovely people have some kindly words of advice ?

m0nkeynuts Wed 18-Sep-13 19:36:51

Hello Jensteronlinetraining smile

Is your website aimed at the business owners (advising them on their responsibilities, best practices etc.) or is it aimed at the people with the disabilities (advising them on how to make sure they are treated correctly)?

What I'm getting at, I suppose, is who exactly is your target audience and what's their motivation for visiting your website?

Is this something you are intending to make money from (I'm assuming so, given your use of the word 'customers'!), or is it a personal project?

What have you tried so far, in terms of getting your website "out there"?

decaffwithcream Wed 18-Sep-13 19:43:56

If its aimed at people with disabilities, can I just nominate Zara as being in dire need of training? wink

They think its perfectly fine to completely fill their one accessible fitting room with boxes and leave them there for months ( I tried to use it on a number of occasions).

Presumably they think they'll get more boxes in there as its bigger....

Best of luck with your new venture OP

Jensteronlinetraining Wed 18-Sep-13 22:29:13