Documentary producer

(8 Posts)

I'm a journalist, but had an idea for a business making documentaries (for families, a niche that I think hasn't been explored yet). Although I have experience producing videos for internet and working on TV, I have never made proper documentaries.

By any chance, does anyone here know of courses or networks or places where I could learn a bit more about this?

Thanks!

NeoMaxiZoomDweebie Thu 27-Jun-13 23:43:18

You mean like this company? I do believe it has been explored...

Thanks for the link! I know some people do this, but couldn't find anyone!

Well, they're in Australia, so they're not competitors. And my idea is a bit different anyway.

NeoMaxiZoomDweebie Fri 28-Jun-13 09:04:01

If you want to learn about how to make documentaries then the BBC do courses but they're very hard to get into. Other than that, I would advise that you watch as many as you possibly can...of all types. Imo that's the best way to learn.

I know it's not quite the same thing but when I wanted to write radio sketches, I listened obsessively to radio sketch shows....for hours every day.

It worked and my stuff has been broadcast multiple times.

Sheshelob Fri 28-Jun-13 09:13:21

There is a company in North London called DV Talent who do courses and hire out equipment, which could help you start out.

And Neo is right - watch a lot of docs, as there are many different kinds of formats.

If you can shoot them yourself, it will keep your overheads low, but it obviously needs to look good, too. DV Talent also have shooters on their books if you are less cinematographically inclined!

And get a shit hot website.

smile

Neo, my plan includes watching loads of documentaries, to learn the language well. Congrats on having your stuff broadcast, lately I haven't heard of many people successful on their writing... sad