How do you get over the fear?

(23 Posts)

I am desperate to start my own business and OH and I have so many great ideas. I always research them thoroughly, draw up detailed business plans and essentially talk myself out of them. There's always a risk, a what-if...

No matter how passionate I am about them, I can't bring myself to take the risk.

We're both young, have no dependants so now seems the logical time to be taking the risks. Between the two of us I think we have about £11,000 put away. By July our household income will be £40,000ish. We rent.

How do those of you brave enough take the leap into business? I almost feel like I'm researching too much.

Oh, in order to survive we would need to bring in about £150 each a week (after tax) bare minimum

You've just got to do it!
I was a trainee accountant about 10 years ago and got made redundant and started temping in accounts depts.
My mil had a cleaner in their village who did a bit of cash in hand and said she was really busy after putting a little note up in the post office offering her services.
This got me and dh thinking, so I took the plunge and set up a cleaning business. As I was temping, as I got more customers, I was able to reduce my temping hours.
I never looked back after that. I earned £15 per hour back then (south warwickshire) for doing something I wasn't 'qualified' in and I loved it.
I then started ironing too which also was good money.

I don't do it anymore as we moved to Wales 4 years ago(back last year), and had a little one, and due to the nature of my husbands business and how it's grown (property), I don't now have to work.

You've just got to sometimes go for it, it may just work out the best thing. My dh gambled everything buying his first couple of rental houses about 10 years ago too, now we're sitting pretty. It could have quite as easily gone tits up, but you've got to just believe in yourself sometimes smile

Good luck x

Justine202 Sat 25-May-13 19:00:16