Neither Mumsnet nor Barclays has checked the knowledge, experience or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. Please do not use this topic to post promotional messages about your business venture; if you do, your post may be deleted as spam.

Office / Studio Space with childcare idea in Edinburgh - Please help

(12 Posts)
deedee1974 Thu 31-Jan-13 10:54:59

Hello, I am an undergrad student with a 2 year old daughter, and a project I am working on is looking at the desirability of combining flexible/ freelance work for parents with affordable childcare by the hour in one location. The space would consist of office space, nursery space and ideally would also have a room where classes etc could be held. The aim is to endeavour to enable parents to go back or keep working when baby arrives by choosing the hours they need, and only paying for those. I hope this is clear, and I would really appreciate hearing what you think. Thanks!

AlwaysOneMissing Sat 02-Feb-13 16:49:06

If you start a business like this - I'm moving to Edinburgh!!

Seriously, I think this is a genius idea. It would transform my life.

Duritzfan Sat 02-Feb-13 17:05:01

Have a look at "officreche" in Brighton

ethelb Sun 03-Feb-13 22:51:27

I thin it is a great idea. I have sometimes wondered if one could set up a company that sells franchises for creche's that exist within office buildings? Maybe that's something you could branch out into?

Someone was pitching an idea like that on Dragons Den. It looked awesome but they tore it to pieces on the finances sad

But it's the kind of model we need, surely? I'm behind you OP!

deedee1974 Mon 04-Feb-13 09:06:47