Neither Mumsnet nor Barclays has checked the knowledge, experience or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. Please do not use this topic to post promotional messages about your business venture; if you do, your post may be deleted as spam.

New soft play Business

(10 Posts)
foxcat Fri 28-Dec-12 09:24:42

Hi Ladies,
I am considering starting up my own soft play business and wanted advice from anyone else who has ever set up a small business or any other useful advice you guys could offer. It's means I would sell my home to fund the business but I feel as a parent myself and having attended so many of these play centres I can see what works and what doesn't . Also I have a degree in child development and an early years status and I think so many of these centres get it wrong when it comes to the equipment for developmental stages for children . My mother is a social worker and would help me run it but I have no idea on cost or the business side of things. I have some ideas , allowing people to bring their own food , having an outside garden area and so on. I just think some of these places charge a fortune and they are so dirty . It's the mums who go to these places know best what works and what is attractive in a soft play place. I would really appreciate your ideas.

GoldQuintessenceAndMyhrr Fri 28-Dec-12 09:33:07

So in essence, you are going to sell your home to fund a softplay that is/has

a) cheap entrance fees
b) clean and great play equipment
c) customers can bring their own food

My question is:

Where is your income going to come from, to pay your rates and rent, your electricity, phone bills and infrastructure, marketing and advertising, your staff, and not forgetting your cleaners ???

I dont think it is enough to say you know what works because you are a mum who has been to soft play, you will need business skills the most.